Adult ESOL Curriculum

The Adult ESOL Core Curriculum (AECC) was published in 2001 and formed part of the first national 'adult basic skills' curriculum. Unlike the Adult Literacy and Adult Numeracy Curricula (which were replace by Functional Skills in 2011) it has never been replaced - although I believe work is currently in progress on this (Jan 2024). 

All ESOL resources published on Skillsworkshop are thus mapped to the Adult ESOL Core Curriculum. Due to overlap, many are also mapped to the Adult Literacy Curriculum and/or the Functional Skills English Content.

ESOL is split into sections as follows (click on each link for more information and to find relevant resources):

Speaking (S)

Listen and Respond (Lr)

Reading (R)

Writing (W)

Since the demise of the Excellence Gateway (EG) on September 30 2023 there is no official Government backed website where the old Skills for Life core curricula are available. The EG has (partially) migrated to the Education & Training Foundation (ETF) at but there is no sign of these classic documents. 

Entry Level 1
Entry Level 2
Entry Level 3
Level 1
Level 2
General ESOL
ESOL Listen and respond (Lr)
ESOL Speaking (S)
ESOL Reading (R)
ESOL Writing (W)
Adult ESOL Curriculum